Board CE Requirements
Updated 5/14/2020 Click to view the FCLB list of board links NOTE: Individual chiropractic regulatory boards may have additional requirements for CE for relicensure that affect the acceptance of some or all of this program’s educational hours. Program attendees are advised to be informed about the legal requirements for CE in their jurisdictions of licensure. The information provided below is intended as a guide only. Please contact specific boards to confirm.
AlabamaDistance Allowed: No more than 6 hours per renewal cycle
2 hrs per year in Alabama Law and Board Rules and Regs
18 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (October 1 - September 30) (Accepts PACE Pre-Check)
Alaska32 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
Distance Allowed: No more than 16 hours per renewal cycle
8 hours in diagnostic imaging/X-ray; 2 hours coding and documentation; 2 hours in ethics and boundaries; 2 hours in CPR
COVID-19 Accommodation: previously allowed in-person courses can be counted as in-person credits if they are instead offered online during the pandemic. Does not include specific hands-on training (for example, dry needling)
Arizona12 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (January 1 - December 31) (Accepts PACE Pre-Check)
Distance Allowed: 12 hours of post-graduate mediated instruction through an accredited college or university
Approved subjects: Adjusting techniques; spinal analysis; physical medicine modalities and therapeutic procedures; record keeping and documentation; ethics; CPR; public health; communicable diseases; sexual boundaries; emergency procedures; acupuncture; nutrition; examination, assessment and diagnostic procedures to include physical, orthopedic, neurological procedures; radiographic technique; diagnostic imaging and interpretation; laser as permitted by law; clinical laboratory procedures limited to urine collection, fingerpricks and venipuncture; anatomy; physiology' bacteriology; chiropractic orthopedics and neurology; chemistry; pathology; patient management; evidence-based clinical intervention models; symptomatology; Arizona jurisprudence; participation in the NBCE exam development or administration
Arkansas24 hours per 1 year renewal cycle
Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle
Subject matter defined in statute; requires courses on subject examined for licensure and specialties
California24 hours per 1 year renewal
Distance Allowed: 12
2 hours in ethics and law; 4 hours in history taking and physical exam procedures, chiropractic adjustive technique, chiropractic manipulation techniques, or proper ethical billing and coding; maximum 12 hours per day; financial management, practice building, and motivation not approved for CE.
COVID-19 Accommodation: please check the board website for information on current CE waivers
Colorado15 hours per year (30 per 2 year renewal cycle)
Distance Allowed: 10 hours every 2 years; must include a proficiency test
4 hours every two years in record keeping and documentation; required to maintain Health Provider level CPR (does not pre-approve)
Connecticut48 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
Distance Allowed: 48 hours per renewal cycle - must include a self-assessment
Must include 1 hr ethics; 1 hr informed consent; 1 hr risk management, laws & rules, including informed consent; 2 hrs every 6 years in mental health conditions common to veterans and their families (does not pre-approve)
Delaware24 hours per 2 year renewal cycle
Distance Allowed: 24 hours per renewal cycle in distance learning that includes live interaction with an instructor; 6 in asynchonous education
Must include 3 hours in ethics, record keeping, or risk management; no practice management
District of Columbia24 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
Distance Allowed: 24 hours per renewal cycle
Florida40 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE Precheck for online CE)
Distance Allowed: 10 hours per renewal cycle
o Three (3) hours of risk management of which two (2) hours must be Florida laws and rules o Six (6) hours of record keeping/documentation and coding o Two (2) hours in the area of ethics and boundaries o For Chiropractic Physicians with Acupuncture Certification – 2 hours in acupuncture safety and risk management and 2 hours in acupuncture technique
Georgia 20 hours per 1 year (2 year renewal cycle) (Accepts PACE Precheck)
Distance Allowed: 10 hours every year - must be test and time monitored to ensure active participation
15 Chiropractic Clinical Science; 4 ethics or risk management; 1 GA Jurisprudence
Hawaii20 hours per 2 year renewal cycleDistance Allowed: 20 hours
Must be a formal program of learning which will contributed directly to the professional competence of a licensee in public practice (Practice-building NOT approved)
Idaho 18 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)Distance Allowed: 18 hours per renewal cycle
Licensees MUST read both Rules 350 and 351 to ensure courses are in line with board standards.
COVID-19 Accommodations: if licensees are able to fulfill CE requirements via online courses, they are encouraged to do so. If licensees are not able to obtain CE prior to the renewal deadline, please send a brief statement and any relevant documentation to the Idaho board.
Illinois 150 hours per 3 year renewal cycle
Distance Allowed: 150 hours per renewal cycle
60 hours in "formal," 90 hours in "informal"
COVID-19 Accommodations: Renewal dates have been extended
Indiana 24 hours per 2 year renewal cycle / maximum 12 hours per year (Accepts PACE)Distance Allowed: 0
4 hours of approved courses in public health and/or risk management per year; practice management prohibited
Iowa 40 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (July 1 to June 30) (Accepts PACE)Distance Allowed: Up to 16 hours in clinical case management per renewal cycle
36 hours in clinical practice (see above for distance limitations); 2 in professional boundaries; 1 hr in Iowa administrative code; 12 in acupuncture if certified
Kansas 15 month update: 50 hours (minimum 20 hours in Cat I); 30 month update: 100 hours (minimum 40 hours in Cat I); 42 month update: 150 hours (minimum 60 hours in Cat I) (Accepts PACE)Distance Allowed: No limit
Category I: Structured, interactive, formal learning; Category II: Indirectly related to healing arts skills and knowledge (see KS website for more information)
Kentucky 12 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE Precheck)Distance Allowed: 0
Courses must be taken over at least two days; 6 hours must be taken within the state of Kentucky; 2 hours of HIV/AIDs required every 10 years
COVID-19 Accommodations: Licensees must obtain 12 hours annually. All 12 hours may be completed by an combinations of online (live or recorded) or live in-person CE events through the 2021 relicensing cycle
Louisiana 15 hours per 1 year renewal cycle Distance Allowed: 0
Must build upon the basic courses required for chiropractic practice; Three (3) hours of risk management, one (1) of which includes ethics.
Maine 48 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle
Category 1 - includes documented physical attendance, subject material related to the concepts of chiropractic principles and practice including, but not limited to, diagnostic procedures, patient care and management; Category 2 - includes instruction, writing on health subjects for publication, participation in accreditation and exam programs, self-instruction, peer review, professional self-assessment programs, CPR certification, wellness programs, others as approved by the board
Maryland 48 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: 48 hours per renewal cycle
5 hours in risk management including 1 hour in jurisprudence and 3 hours communicable disease training
Massachusetts 12 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (April 1 - May 31) (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle
Allowable subject matter includes clinical proficiency, philosophy and ethics, jurisprudence, or the human and biological sciences; Courses devoted to administrative or economic aspects of practice shall not be approved for continuing education credit.
Michigan 30 hours per 2 year renewal cycle Distance Allowed: 15 hours per renewal cycle
1 hour in sexual boundaries, 1 hour in ethics, and 1 hour in pain and symptom management; 2 live, in-person hours in physical measures and 2 live, in-person hours in performance and ordering of tests
Minnesota 20 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
Distance Allowed: 20 hours per renewal cycle
20-hour requirement must include 3 hours in radiology/advanced imaging, 1 hour in professional boundaries, 2 hours in acupuncture (if registered), 6 hours in addition to the 20 hours in animal chiropractic (if registered). Note professional boundaries refers to preserving the Doctor/Patient relationship.
COVID-19 Accommodations: The Minnesota Health Licensing Boards are jointly promoting a deferral of CE requirements until the first renewal period after the COVID-19 emergency ends. However, since chiropractic renewals are not until the end of the year, and we allow all CE to be obtained by alternative means, i.e. online, video, CD, etc., it is not expected to affect chiropractors in Minnesota
Mississippi 12 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (July 1 - June 30) Distance Allowed: 0
3 hours in risk management
Missouri 48 hours per 2 year renewal cycle Distance Allowed: 48 hours per renewal cycle - must be board approved
24 hours of formal, board-approved CE in at least 3 of the 16 recognized categories (see MO website); self-study, meetings, publishing, presentations, etc. allowed for up to 24 hours of credit
Montana 13 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: 13 hours per renewal cycle
No more than 2 hours of philosophy or practice management; 1 hour of professional ethics and boundaries required
Nebraska 36 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (August 1 - July 31) (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: 6 hours per renewal cycle
Must complete 4 hours of technical skills in x-ray or adjustive techniques; and 4 hours in HIV/Aids, infectious diseases; boundary training; Nebraska scope; lab testing and interpretation; physical, neurological and orthopedic exam; fraud prevention; rehab; ethics; or use of unlicensed personnel. Maximum 8 hours CE per day. Does not pre-approve; acceptable programs/activities available on NE website (page 17).
Nevada36 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: 36 hours per renewal cycle
No practice-building or insurance-billing
When submitting PACE attendance to Nevada for license renewal, use code NV22-000.
New Hampshire 20 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: No more than 25% of the total hours (currently 5 hours per renewal cycle)
Business courses specifically excluded; maximum 10 hours credit per day.
New Jersey 30 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: 12 in asynchronous distance learning; or 30 in synchronous distance learning
2 hours in state laws regarding ethics or record keeping; 2 hours in nutrition education; maximum 10 hours of CE per day
New Mexico 16 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (July 1 - June 30) (accepts PACE Precheck)Distance Allowed: 8 hours per renewal cycle unless specific approval is obtained
Additional hours may be required by the board; NOTE: 1 credit = 60 full minutes of education
COVID-19 Accommodations: License renewals will be processed without proof of CE. Licenses without sufficient CE will be required to give notice to the board or commission through procedures established by the Public Email Notice on March 17, 2020. If all other license renewal requirements are met, licenses will be renewed without proof of CE credits. When the public health emergency is lifted, Boards and Commissions staff will send out a notice to licensees stating that the licensee has 6 months to submit their proof of CE or be subject to discipline by the Board.
New York 36 hours per 3 year renewal cycle Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle
One time 2-hour course in child abuse reporting required; at least 12 hours in patient communications, record keeping, and matters of law and/or ethics
North Carolina 18 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: 8 hours per renewal cycle
2 hours in coding; 2 hour in compliance; 2 hours in documentation; 2 hours in ethics; 2 hours in sexual boundaries; 2 hours in NC jurisprudence every 5 years
North Dakota 20 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: 20 hours per renewal cycle
4 hours of professional boundaries every 3 years; for licensees authorized to practice acupuncture, 2 hours of acupuncture CE required
Ohio 36 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: 36 hours
2 hours on ethics or professionalism, human trafficking awareness, laws and rules of the board Topics related to billing and coding, risk management, malpractice defense, legal courses, and practice building are not eligible for CE.
Oklahoma 16 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE Precheck) Distance Allowed: 8
12 hours must be clinical in nature; 8 hours must be earned in-state through an Oklahoma state association
COVID-19 Accommodations: The Board approved an extension of continuing education hours for the current renewal period of 2020-2021. The licensee will have until June 30, 2021 to submit current renewal hours along with next year's license renewal hours once they have submitted the Non-attendance waiver. They will still need to pay for license renewal on or before June 30, 2020 to have their license renewed but with the submission of the waiver that grants them additional time on obtaining the required CE. The board has also removed the 90 day postmark deadline for CEs to be submitted by state associations and other entities who make application to have CEs approved by the board. This will allow for mroe CEs to be available for the licensee in-state, and more opportunities for the licensee to do 8 of the 16 out-of-state or online
Oregon 20 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: 20 hours per renewal cycle
All first time licensees and those changing status from inactive to active must complete 4 hours in over-the-counter non-prescriptive substances
Pennsylvania 24 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (September 1 - August 31) Distance Allowed: 24 hours per renewal cycle
Rhode Island 60 hours per 3 year registration cycle (Accepts PACE)
Distance Allowed: 30 hours per registration cycle
50 hours in clinically-related courses
South Carolina 36 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: 18 hours per renewal cycle
2 hours SC rules and regs; 2 hrs risk management
South Dakota40 hours per 2 years (January 1 to December 31) (Accepts PACE) Distance Allowed: 40 hours per 2 years; online courses MUST include an end of seminar quiz with at least a 70% passing score required.
DCs must maintain current CPR certification; 8 hours acupuncture required if certified.
Tennessee 24 hours per 1 year (Accepts PACE for live courses and PACE Precheck for distance courses) Distance Allowed: 6 hours per 1 year (uses PACE Precheck)
Additional 6 hours in board approved risk management, sexual/professional boundaries, and Tennessee statutory and regulatory chiropractic jurisprudence (first year prior to licensure or first six months of licensure); For licensees with acupuncture certification, 6 hours of acupuncture are required. Philosophy is not allowed for CE.
Texas 16 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE Pre-Check for chiropractic colleges)Distance Allowed: 10 hours per renewal cycle
The board will designate a minimum of four hours as "TBCE Required Courses" which must be taken live: three hours in board rules including, ethics, recordkeeping, documentation, and coding; a minimum of one hour in risk management in chiropractic practice.
COVID-19 Accommodations: 10 hours are allowed online. The additional six may be earned via interactive webinar.
Utah 40 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)Distance Allowed: 10 hours per renewal cycle
No more than 4 hours of marketing or practice building; licensees who practice acupuncture must complete 10 hours of acupuncture
COVID-19 Accommodations: Live requirements are suspended. Online or distance learning are acceptable for all 40 hours required
Vermont 24 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)Distance Allowed: 24 per renewal cycle
Practice management, finance, and philosophy prohibited
Virginia 60 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
Distance Allowed: Not specified
Minimum 30 hours in Type 1 (approved by board); maximum 30 hours Type 2 (not approved by board)
Washington 25 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle
Diagnosis and treatment of the spine or immediate articulations within the scope of practice; X-ray/diagnostic imaging; Adjustive technique; Detection of a subluxation; Physical examination; Hygiene; Symptomatology; Neurology; Pathology; Orthopedics; Patient/case management; Impairment within the scope of practice; CPR; Dietary and nutrition advice; and Chiropractic philosophy and business management (not to exceed a total of 8 hours) 1-time requirement: 3 hrs suicide prevention screening
COVID-19 Accommodations: Expiration dates extended. Visit board website for more information
West Virginia 18 hours per 1 year renewal cycle
Distance Allowed: 6 hours per renewal cycle
COVID-19 Accommodations: All 18 allowed online for current renewal cycle
Wisconsin 40 hours per 2 year renewal cycle
Distance Allowed: 0
Must maintain current CPR certification; Chiropractors with nutritional counseling certificates must complete at least 4 hours of nutrition CE; 1 hour of coursework to become proficient in the use of an automated external defibrillator required.
Wyoming 12 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
Distance Allowed: 4
COVID-19 Accommodations: Emergency rules instated to lift cap on online CE
Puerto Rico45 hours per 3 years (Accepts PACE)
Distance Allowed: 15
U.S. Virgin Islands24 hours per 2 years - recommended
Board is currently working on rules and regs.
Australia 25 hours per 1 year
Distance Allowed: 12.5 hours per 1 year
New Zealand50 hours per 2 year renewal cycle
Distance Allowed: not specified
At least 15 hours in "group A" formal learning activities.
Alberta24 hours per 1 year renewal cycle
Distance Allowed: 24 per renewal cycle
British Columbia24 hours per 2 years
Distance Allowed: at the discretion of the board
Minimum 6 hours in x-ray; maximum 6 hours in philosophy
ManitobaRecommended, not mandatory
New Brunswick24 hours per 2 years
Distance Allowed: with prior approval
Newfoundland/Labrador12 hours every 2 years
Distance Allowed: 12 hours every 2 years
6 hours in radiology required
Nova Scotia 24 hours every 2 years (Accepts PACE)
Distance Allowed: 6 hours every 2 years
Prince Edward Island15 hours
Practice management prohibited
Quebec 12 hours of radiology annually
Saskatchewan 30 hours every 2 years
Distance Allowed: 10 hours per 2 years
15 hours must be obtained from CAS-provided seminars