Monday, October 20, 2014
 

CE Requirements by Board

Minimize
Updated 7/2/2014

Click to view the FCLB list of board links

NOTE: Individual chiropractic regulatory boards may have additional requirements for CE for relicensure that affect the acceptance of some or all of this program’s educational hours. Program attendees are advised to be informed about the legal requirements for CE in their jurisdictions of licensure.
The information provided below is intended as a guide only.  Please contact specific boards to confirm.
Alabama - 18 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (October 1 - September 30)
Distance Allowed: No more than 1/3 hours per renewal cycle
2 hrs per year in Alabama Law and Board Rules and Regs
   
Alaska - 32 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: No more than 1/3 hours per renewal cycle
  8 hours in radiographic safety, techniques and interpretation or diagnostic imaging; 2 hours coding and documentation; 2 hours in ethics and boundaries; 2 hours in CPR
   
Arizona - 12 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (January 1 - December 31)
  Distance Allowed: 12 hours of past-graduate mediated instruction through an accredited college or university
  Approved subjects: Adjusting techniques; spinal analysis; physical medicine modalities and therapeutic procedures; record keeping and documentation; ethics; CPR; public health; communicable diseases; sexual boundaries; emergency procedures; acupuncture; nutrition; examination, assessment and diagnostic procedures to include physical, orthopedic, neurological procedures; radiographic technique; diagnostic imaging and interpretation; laser as permitted by law; clinical laboratory procedures limited to urine collection, fingerpricks and venipuncture; anatomy; physiology' bacteriology; chiropractic orthopedics and neurology; chemistry; pathology; patient management; evidence-based clinical intervention models; symptomatology; Arizona jurisprudence; participation in the NBCE exam development or administration
   
Arkansas - 24 hours per 1 year renewal cycle 
  Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle
  subject matter defined in statute; requires courses on subject examined for licensure and specialties 
   
California - 24 hours per 1 year renewal 
  Distance Allowed: 12
  2 hours in ethics and law; 4 hours in history taking and physical exam procedures, chiropractic adjustive technique, chiropractic manipulation techniques, or proper ethical billing and coding
   
Colorado - 15 hours per year (2 year renewal cycle)
  Distance Allowed: 10 hours every 2 years; must include a proficiency test
  4 hours every two years in record keeping and documentation; required to maintain Health Provider level CPR 
   
Connecticut - 48 hours per 2 year renewal cycle
  Distance Allowed: 48 hours per renewal cycle - must include a self-assessment
  Must include ethics, documentation, cultural competence, 2 hours patient communication (including boundary training and/or informed consent)
   
Delaware - 24 hours per 2 year renewal cycle
  Distance Allowed: 24 hours per renewal cycle in distance learning that includes live interaction with an instructor; 6 in asynchonous education
  Must include 3 hours in ethics, record keeping, or risk management; no practice management 
   
District of Columbia - 24 hours per 2 year renewal cycle
  Distance Allowed: 24 hours per renewal cycle
   
   
Florida - 40 hours per 2 year renewal cycle
  Distance Allowed: 0
  o One (1) hour of risk management CE
o Two (2) hours of Florida laws and rules CE
o Two (2) hour course relating to prevention of medical errors
o Six (6) hours of record keeping/documentation and coding
o Two (2) hours in the area of ethics and boundaries
o For Chiropractic Physicians with Acupuncture Certification – 12 hours in Acupuncture CE
o 27 hours in general CE
 
   
Georgia - 20 hours per 1 year (2 year renewal cycle)
  Distance Allowed: 20 hours every 2 years - must be test and time monitored to ensure active participation
  15 Chiropractic Clinical Science; 4 ethics or risk management; 1 GA Jurisprudence
   
Hawaii - 20 hours per 2 year renewal cycle
  Distance Allowed: 20 hours per renewal cycle
  Must be a formal program of learning which will contributed directly to the professional competence of a licensee in public practice (Practice-building NOT approved) 
   
Idaho - 18 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 6 hours per renewal cycle
  Subjects: anatomy and histology; clinical blood chemistry and hematology; pathology; bacteriology; clinical nutrition; hygiene and sanitation; physiology; symptomatology; urinalysis; chiropractic jurisprudence; chiropractic orthopedics; physiotherapy; chiropractic principles, clinical and physical diagnosis; chiropractic adjustment; neurology, and palpation
   
Illinois - 150 hours per 3 year renewal cycle 
  Distance Allowed: 150 hours per renewal cycle 
  60 hours in "formal," 90 hours in "informal"  
   
Indiana - 24 hours per 2 year renewal cycle / maximum 12 hours per year (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 0 
  8 hours of approved courses in public health and/or risk management per year; practice management prohibited 
   
Iowa - 60 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (July 1 to June 30) (Accepts PACE) 
  Distance Allowed: Up to 16 hours in clinical case management per renewal cycle or 36 hours in clinical case management from CCE accredited college, Iowa Chiropractic Society, American Chiropractic Association, International Chiropractors Association, or PACE
  36 hours in clinical practice (see above for distance limitations); 2 in professional boundaries; 1 hr in Iowa administrative code; 12 in acupuncture if certified 
   
Kansas - 1 year update: 50 hours  (minimum 20 hours in Cat I); 2 year update: 100 hours  (minimum 40 hours in Cat I); 3 year update: 150 hours (minimum 60 hours in Cat I)  (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: No limit 
  Category I: Structured, interactive, formal learning;  Category II: Indirectly related to healing arts skills and knowledge (see KS website for more information)
   
Kentucky - 12 hours per 1 year renewal cycle
  Distance Allowed: 0 
  Courses must be taken over at least two days; 6 hours must be taken within the state of Kentucky; 2 hours of HIV/AIDs required every 10 years 
   
Louisiana - 12 hours per 1 year renewal cycle; additional 6 hours of risk management even-numbered years
  Distance Allowed: 0 
  Must build upon the basic courses required for chiropractic practice 
   
Maine - 48 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle 
  Category 1 - includes documented physical attendance, subject material related to the concepts of chiropractic principles and practice including, but not limited to, diagnostic procedures, patient care and management; Category 2 - includes instruction, writing on health subjects for publication, participation in accreditation and exam programs, self-instruction, peer review, professional self-assessment programs, CPR certification, wellness programs, others as approved by the board
   
Maryland - 48 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 48 hours per renewal cycle 
  3 hours in approved communicable-disease and sanitary procedures; 1 hour in diversity education; 3 hours in risk management; and 1 hour in jurisprudence.  
   
Massachusetts - 12 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (April 1 - May 31) (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle 
  Allowable subject matter includes clinical proficiency, philosophy and ethics, jurisprudence, or the human and biological sciences; Courses devoted to administrative or economic aspects of practice shall not be approved for continuing education credit.  
   
Michigan - 30 hours per 2 year renewal cycle
  Distance Allowed: 15 hours per renewal cycle 
  1 hour in sexual boundaries, 1 hour in ethics, and 1 hour in pain and symptom management; 2 live, in-person hours in physical measures and 2 live, in-person hours in performance and ordering of tests
   
Minnesota - 20 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 20 hours per renewal cycle 
  3 hours in x-ray, 1 hour in professional boundaries, 2 hours in acupuncture (if registered), 6 additional in animal chiropractic (if registered)
   
Mississippi - 12 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (July 1 - June 30)
  Distance Allowed: 0 
  3 hours in risk management 
   
Missouri - 48 hours per 2 year renewal cycle 
  Distance Allowed: 48 hours per renewal cycle - must be board approved 
  24 hours of formal, board-approved CE in at least 3 of the 16 recognized categories (see MO website); self-study, meetings, publishing, presentations, etc. allowed for up to 24 hours of credit 
   
Montana - 13 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle 
  No more than 2 hours of philosophy or practice management; 1 hour of professional ethics and boundaries required 
   
Nebraska - 36 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (August 1 - July 31) (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 6 hours per renewal cycle 
  Must complete 4 hours of technical skills in x-ray or adjustive techniques; and 4 hours in HIV/Aids, infectious diseases; boundary training' Nebraska scope; lab testing and interpretation; physical, neurological and orthopedic exam; fraud prevention; rehab; ethics; or use of unlicensed personnel
   
Nevada -  36 hours per 2 year renewal cycle  (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 36 hours per renewal cycle
  No practice-building or insurance-billing 
   
New Hampshire - 20 hours per 2 year renewal cycle 
  Distance Allowed: No more than 25% of the total hours (currently 5 hours per renewal cycle) 
  Business courses specifically excluded 
   
New Jersey - 30 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 12 in asynchronous distance learning; or 30 in synchronous distance learning
  2 hours in state laws regarding ethics or record keeping; 2 hours in nutrition education 
   
New Mexico - 16 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (July 1 - June 30)  (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 8 hours per renewal cycle unless specific approval is obtained
  Additional hours may be required by the board
   
New York - 36 hours per 3 year renewal cycle 
  Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle 
  one time 2-hour course in child abuse reporting required; at least 12 hours in patient communications, record keeping, and matters of law and/or ethics
   
North Carolina - 24 hours per 1 year renewal cycle  (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle 
  2 hours in coding; 2 hour in compliance; 2 hours in documentation; 2 hours in ethics; 2 hours in sexual boundaries; 2 hours in NC jurisprudence 
   
North Dakota - 20 hours per 1 year renewal cycle  (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 20 hours per renewal cycle
  4 hours of professional boundaries every 3 years 
   
Ohio - 36 hours per 2 year renewal cycle  (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 12 per renewal cycle for in-state licensees; 36 per renewal cycle for out-of-state licensees 
  1.5 hours on ethics or professionalism; for in-state licensees, 24 hours must be earned in-state
   
Oklahoma - 16 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 8
  12 hours must be clinical in nature; 8 hours must be earned in-state through an Oklahoma state association
   
Oregon - 20 hours per 1 year renewal cycle  (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 20 hours per renewal cycle 
  All first time licensees and those changing status from inactive to active must complete 4 hours in over-the-counter non-prescriptive substances 
   
Pennsylvania - 24 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (September 1 - August 31) 
  Distance Allowed: 24 hours per renewal cycle 
   
   
Rhode Island - 60 hours per 3 year registration cycle 
  Distance Allowed: 30 hours per registration cycle 
  50 hours in clinically-related courses 
   
South Carolina - 36 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 18 hours per renewal cycle 
  2 hours SC rules and regs; 2 hrs risk management 
   
South Dakota - 40 hours per 2 years (January 1 to December 31) (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 40 hours per 2 years
   
   
Tennessee - 24 hours per 1 year
  Distance Allowed: 6 hours per 1 year 
  For licensees with acupuncture certification, 6 hours of acupuncture are required 
   
Texas - 16 hours per 1 year renewal cycle
  Distance Allowed: 6 hours per renewal cycle 
   
   
Utah - 40 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 10 hours per renewal cycle 
  No more than 4 hours of marketing or practice building; licensees who practice acupuncture must complete 10 hours of acupuncture 
   
Vermont -  24 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 24 per renewal cycle 
  Practice management, finance, and philosophy prohibited 
   
Virginia -  60 hours per 2 year renewal cycle
  Distance Allowed: n/a 
  Minimum 30 hours in Type 1 (approved by board); maximum 30 hours Type 2 (not approved by board)  
   
Washington - 25 hours per 1 year renewal cycle
  Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle 
  Diagnosis and treatment of the spine or immediate articulations within the scope of practice; X-ray/diagnostic imaging; Adjustive technique; Detection of a subluxation; Physical examination; Hygiene; Symptomatology; Neurology; Pathology; Orthopedics; Patient/case management; Impairment within the scope of practice; CPR; Dietary and nutrition advice; and Chiropractic philosophy and business management (not to exceed a total of 8 hours) 
   
West Virginia - 18 hours per 1 year renewal cycle
  Distance Allowed: 6 hours per renewal cycle 
  6 hours mandated in Administrative Discounting for 2012 renewal 
   
Wisconsin - 40 hours per 2 year renewal cycle 
  Distance Allowed: 0 
  Must maintain current CPR certification 
   
Wyoming - 12 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 0 
   
   
Puerto Rico - 45 hours per 3 years (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 15 
   
   
U.S. Virgin Islands - None 
   
   
   
Australia - 25 hours per 1 year
  Distance Allowed: 12.5 hours per 1 year 
   
   
New Zealand - CE requirements anticipated for 2012 
   
   
   
Alberta - 24 hours per 1 year renewal cycle 
  Distance Allowed: 24 per renewal cycle
   
   
British Columbia - 24 hours per 2 years 
  Distance Allowed: at th discretion of the board 
  Minimum 6 hours in x-ray; maximum 6 hours in philosophy 
   
Manitoba - recommended, not mandatory 
   
   
   
New Brunswick - 24 hours per 2 years 
  Distance Allowed: with prior approval
   
   
Newfoundland/Labrador - 12 hours every 2 years 
  Distance Allowed: 12 hours every 2 years
  6 hours in radiology required 
   
Nova Scotia - 24 hours every 2 years  (Accepts PACE)
  Distance Allowed: 6 hours every 2 years 
   
   
Ontario - Self-directed 
   
   
   
Prince Edward Island - 15 hours 
  Practice management prohibited 
   
   
Quebec - 12 hours of radiology annually 
   
   
   
Saskatchewan - 30 hours every 2 years 
  Distance Allowed: 10 hours per 2 years 
  15 hours must be obtained from CAS-provided seminars